rosaryThe word Sacrament comes from the Latin word sacramentum, which means “a sign of the sacred.” The seven sacraments are ceremonies that point to what is sacred and significant for us as Christians. They are special occasions for experiencing God’s saving presence. To learn more, please read below or feel free to speak with our priests before or after mass. If you learn more about the sacraments, you can celebrate them more fully. If you would like more information on any of the sacraments at Our Lady of Peace Parish, either call the Rectory  at (718) 624-6720, or submit an email inquiry and you will be contacted by a member of the parish staff. Thank you for your interest. Peace and blessings!

Please call the parish office for more information.
Por favor, llame la oficina de la Parroquia por más información.

Holy Eucharist/Eucaristía:
Please call the parish office for more information.
Por favor, llame la oficina de la Parroquia por más información.


Saturdays: 3:30 p.m. – 4:15 p.m. and by appointment at the Rectory.
Sábado a las 3:30 p.m. – 4:15 p.m.

Arrangements should be made first with the parish at least six months in advance. Couples must show readiness, attend Pre-Cana classes and receive special instruction at the Rectory.
Por favor notificar al parroco 6 meses antes de la boda. Llame la oficina de la Parroquia por más información.

Anointing of the Sick/Ungiendo del Enfermo:
Anytime/ En calquier momento

Holy Orders/Ordenes Santas:
Please contact the Rectory for more information on the Franciscan Order.
Por favor, póngase en contacto con la rectoría para más información sobre la Orden Franciscana.

What are the Seven Sacraments?


The Sacrament of Baptism is the first step in a lifelong journey of commitment and discipleship. Whether we are baptized as infants or adults, Baptism is the Church’s way of celebrating and enacting the embrace of God.


The Eucharist, or Communion, is both a sacrifice and a meal. We believe in the real presence of Jesus, who died for our sins. As we receive Christ’s Body and Blood, we also are nourished spiritually and brought closer to God.


The Sacrament of Reconciliation, also known as the Sacrament of Penance, is where we find God’s unconditional forgiveness, and as a result we are called to forgive others. We are encouraged to receive the Sacrament of Penance frequently throughout our lifetime so that we can benefit from the graces we obtain through reception of this sacrament.


The Sacrament of Confirmation is a mature Christian commitment and a deepening of baptismal gifts. Like Baptism and Eucharist, it is a Sacrament of Initiation for Catholics and a Sacrament of faith in God’s fidelity to us.


The Sacrament of Marriage, or Holy Matrimony, is a public sign that one gives oneself totally to this other person. It is also a public statement about God: the loving union of husband and wife speaks of family values and also God’s values.

Holy Orders

In the Sacrament of Holy Orders, also known as Ordination, the priest being ordained vows to lead other Catholics by bringing them the sacraments (especially the Eucharist), by proclaiming the Gospel, and by providing other means to holiness.

Anointing of the Sick

The Sacrament of the Anointing of the Sick, formerly known as Last Rites, is a ritual of healing appropriate not only for physical but also for mental and spiritual sickness. Through this sacrament, the Church comforts and supports the person who is suffering and continues the healing ministry of Christ. For those who are about to die, the Church, in addition to the Anointing of the Sick, offers the Eucharist as viaticum – food for the journey home.